Skip to content

Past Presidents

Three early ABA presidents captured together in a press photograph of the Amherst Sale at Sotheby's in 1908 - left to right, (6) Walter James Leighton, (7) James Tregaskis and (8) Benjamin Dawson Maggs.

The links below take you to an evolving series of lives of all the ABA presidents - a collaborative exercise in creating a sequential history of the rare book trade. It depends very much on broad input. If you have any material at all - archival records, old obituaries, original catalogues, extracts from family history, facts, anecdotes, photographs, research or anything at all of interest to add - then please get in touch.